Skip to main content

All The Water In The World - Karen Raney


Karen Raney’s debut is a moving and perceptive novel about how the experience of mortality and grief can shape how we live our lives.

The novel is narrated through the alternating voices of mother and daughter Eve and Maddy, and flits back and forth in chronology. 16 –year old Maddy has terminal cancer, and Raney explores how this influences Maddy’s thoughts and feelings on several levels. In particular, the sheer loneliness of it, the fear of the unknown, and the need to leave behind a positive legacy. Eve’s narrative is interwoven with Maddy’s, and takes place after Maddy’s death. Eve reminisces about Maddy and her own relationships with her parents, her partner Robin, and Maddy’s estranged father Antonio. When she stumbles across a secret correspondence between Maddy and Antonio, she starts to wonder why the two of them parted ways, and discovers that maybe the version of events she told herself and her family wasn’t strictly accurate.


What I liked:

There is plenty to praise about this book. Raney’s use of language and imagery is powerful throughout. Her linguistic rendering of Maddy’s disintegration of consciousness in the Coda, with its fragmented sentences, lack of punctuation and merging of viewpoints, might not be to everyone’s taste but it is an original and striking imagining of the internal process of dying. Her descriptions are vivid; her use of motifs such as water and the natural world effectively evoke a range of emotions, and although I sometimes found her use of metaphor a little hit-and-miss, when she gets it right she really gets it right.  For instance, the significance of the rat-snake felt heavy-handed to me, but the extended metaphor surrounding Robin was beautifully done. He is so like his bird-namesake in every way, with his musicality and the way he builds living spaces out of wood for his loved ones, such as the nest-like attic room perched among the treetops.

Raney also deftly portrays the complexities of her characters’ feelings. Their emotions are often tangled and ambivalent, but there is a positive thread running through them all. I loved Maddy as a character – she was brave, clever and compassionate, and I loved the way she tried to live her remaining time on her own terms. With Maddy’s environmental campaigning and her art, Raney draws a poignant link between the loss of a child and the destruction of the world we inhabit. Eve’s world will never be the same again, and the novel explores how she comes to term with this knowledge.

What I didn't love:

 I did not warm to Eve’s character in the same way I did to Maddy’s. Although she is a loving and devoted mother, Eve’s sorrow and negativity seem to hang over and taint every incident in the book, which makes for a sense of discomfort when reading the parts narrated by her. Her apathy contrasts strongly with Maddy’s productivity even in Maddy’s own moments of despair, and she has a constantly prickly attitude towards others. This is probably a somewhat accurate description of someone who is grieving deeply, but somehow I could not feel much for her beyond the obvious sympathies I had as a fellow parent.

Perhaps this was the point though – that grief can turn people insular and make them seem selfish and self-absorbed, ignoring the feelings of their family and friends around them. Eve knows on some level that she is pushing people away, but she does not know how to stop, nor is she sure she even wants to. Her grief is so consuming that it distorts her better judgement and impulses, leading her to make some questionable decisions.

I wished that some of the minor characters had been a little more fleshed out and woven into the story better. For instance, Robin is always in the periphery but I felt as if I never really got to know him properly, until the last few chapters of the book. Even Antonio gets more airtime, not that it does him any favours. I understand the thinking behind this decision, but I felt that Robin deserved so much more as a character. Similarly, from the way we were introduced to Norma, I expected her to have a bigger role in the story than she did. As it was, she felt like a plot device – maybe to show how NormaL her life was in comparison to Eve’s.

To sum up:

I found this book to be an insightful exploration of the ripple-effects of grief and living with terminal illness. It would appeal to fans of John Green and Jojo Moyes but has a more literary style, with imagery and references which reflect Raney’s artistic background.

Caution: difficult themes – illness (cancer), death. Tread carefully if you are sensitive to material like this.

Brown Brontë rating: 3.5 stars

All The Water In The World is by Karen Raney and published by Two Roads Books, an imprint of Hachette UK.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

50 Years of Bangladesh

 Today is the 50th anniversary of the independence of Bangladesh. Growing up, my sisters and I would hear stories from parents and relatives about the War of Independence of 1971. We would go to community events commemorating Bangladesh Independence Day, Victory Day, Language Martyrs Day, and listen to veterans and members of the community who lived through that period, talking about their experiences. As they stood in front of rows of nodding elders and bored schoolchildren, the pain and pride in their voices rumbled through the microphone in their hands and filled the small community hall, along with the aroma of biryani stacked in boxes at the back, waiting to be handed round later.     Although we often had mixed feelings about sitting through those three-hour programmes, I've begun to realise that those parents who dragged their children along to those events knew that one day there would be nobody left alive who had witnessed that history.     As second or third generation di

Why Helen Graham is the Best Brontë Heroine

This month was Anne Bront ë ’s 200 th birthday, so I couldn’t let it go without writing a post in honour of it.  Anne Bronte, Project Gutenberg I don't think I'm alone in thinking that Anne was the boldest of her sisters. Her novel The Tenant of Wildfell Hall certainly is the bravest in rebelling against social expectations of women, and Helen Graham is by far my favourite heroine. Here’s why: 1.  She’s an adult, independent woman who has lived a full(er) life in society. Rather than living in the margins of society, in a state of arrested development, like Jane, Lucy, Agnes or even Cathy who never wanted to leave the moors, Helen’s previous life means she seems more like a well-rounded person. This might have made her story all the more shocking to Victorian audiences, as Helen’s social standing combined with her radical ideas would have been more likely to influence other people than those of a governess. She can’t be dismissed as just a naïve or unrelia

Chatting with Kate Morrison, Author: A Book of Secrets

Something special on the blog today, readers: I'm thrilled to be chatting to Kate Morrison, author of stunning debut A Book of Secrets, as part of its Random Things Tour. Join us as we talk about historical research, women's independence and racism in Elizabethan England. "A Book of Secrets is the story of a woman named Susan Charlewood living in Elizabethan England. Born in what is now Ghana, Susan is enslaved by the Portuguese but later rescued by British sailors, who bring her to England. Once in England, she is raised in an English Cathoic household. When Susan comes of age, the family marry her off to an older Catholic man, John Charlewood. Charlewood runs a printing press and uses it to supply the Papist nobility with illegal Catholic texts and foment rebellion amongst the Catholic underclass. When Charlewood, Susan takes over the business and uses her new position to find out more about her origins.  A look at racial relationships at the beginning of the eve of the